Monday, May 13, 2013

Magness receives two Blues Music Awards

Alligator Records artist and Michigan native Janiva Magness received two Blues Music Awards from the Blues Foundation on May 9 at the Cook Convention Center in Memphis. The vocalist was honored as Contemporary Blues Female Artist Of The Year,
Janiva Magness
(photo by Jeff Jaisun)
and for Song Of The Year for "I Won't Cry," from her recording "Stronger For it." "I Won't Cry" was co-written by Dave Darling.
Other Blues Music Awards included:
Traditional Blues Album: "Double Dynamite" - The Mannish Boys
Instrumentalist-Bass: Bob Stroger 
DVD: Eagle Rock Entertainment - "Muddy Waters & Rolling Stones, Live at Checkerboard Lounge"
Instrumentalist-Horn: Eddie Shaw
Soul Blues Female Artist: Irma Thomas
Acoustic Artist: Eric Bibb
Traditional Blues Male Artist: Magic Slim
Acoustic Album: "Not Alone" - Ann Rabson w/ Bob Margolin
Contemporary Blues Album: "Show of Strength" - Michael Burks
Gibson Guitar: Derek Trucks
Rock Blues Album: "Everybody's Talkin'" - Tedeschi Trucks Band 
Band: Tedeschi Trucks Band
Instrumentalist-Harmonica: Rick Estrin 
Instrumentalist-Drums: Cedric Burnside
Soul Blues Male Artist: Curtis Salgado
Pinetop Perkins Piano Player: Victor Wainwright
Contemporary Blues Male Artist: Tab Benoit
Historical: Bear Family Records for "Plug It In! Turn It Up! Electric Blues" by Various Artists 
Soul Blues Album: "Soul Shot" - Curtis Salgado 
Best New Artist Debut: "They Call Me Big LLou" - Big LLou Johnson
Koko Taylor Award (Traditional Blues Female): Ruthie Foster 
Album: "Show of Strength" - Michael Burks
B.B King Entertainer: Curtis Salgado 
To send info to JB Blues, please email

No comments:

Post a Comment